Shawn Holladay to Lead National Cotton Council in 2023

Shawn Holladay, a Lubbock producer, was elected NCC chairman for 2023 during the organization’s annual meeting in Dallas, Texas.

February 13, 2023
Contact: Marjory Walker or T. Cotton Nelson
(901) 274-9030

MEMPHIS, Tenn. – Shawn Holladay, a Lubbock producer, was elected National Cotton Council (NCC) chairman for 2023 during the organization’s annual meeting in Dallas, Texas.

Joe Nicosia, a Cordova, Tenn., merchant, will serve as vice chairman for 2023.

Holladay has served in many NCC roles including as a director and as its vice chairman in 2022. He served on multiple NCC committees including chairing its Farm Policy & Economic Policy and its Budget committees. He was chairman of the NCC’s American Cotton Producers in 2018 and 2019 having previously served for several years as the ACP’s Farm Policy Task Force chairman – proving to be a tireless advocate for sound farm policy development.

Holladay also was a key asset in the creation and implementation of the seed cotton program for U.S. cotton producers and was a member of trade delegations to China and South America coordinated by Cotton Council International, the NCC’s export promotions arm.

A former Plains Cotton Growers Association chairman and Lamesa Cotton Growers president, Holladay is a fourth-generation producer who, along with his wife, Julie, and daughter, Katy, owns and operates an operation in West Texas’ Dawson and Martin counties that primarily produces cotton. He also is a partner in United Gin Corporation, located south of Lamesa.

Holladay was named the 2018 Texas Tech University Gerald W. Thomas Outstanding Agriculturalist in Agricultural Production. He also received the 2017 Cotton Achievement Award from Cotton Grower magazine and was a 2012 recipient of the High Cotton Award – a program sponsored by Farm Progress through a grant to the Cotton Foundation that recognizes conservation and environmental stewardship.
Elected as NCC vice presidents were Hank N. Reichle, Jr., a Greenwood, Miss., cooperative official, and Raymond Faus, a Richardson, Texas, merchant.
Re-elected as NCC vice presidents were Sammy Wright, a Tifton, Ga., cottonseed processor; Robin Perkins, a Sanford, N.C., textile manufacturer; Kirk Gilkey, a Corcoran, Calif., ginner; and Jay Cowart, an Altus, Okla., warehouser. Re-elected as secretary-treasurer is Mark McKean, a producer from Riverdale, California.

Re-elected as NCC staff officers were Gary Adams, president and chief executive officer; Marjory Walker, vice president, Operations; Jody Campiche, vice president, Economics and Policy Analysis; John Gibson, vice president, Member Services; Don Parker, vice president, Technical Services; Tas Smith, vice president, Producer Affairs; and Harrison Ashley, vice president, Ginner Services. Robbie Minnich was elected as vice president, Washington Operations.