Cotton Council International Elects 2018 Officers

Ted Schneider, a producer from Lake Providence, La., will serve as president of Cotton Council International for 2018.

February 12, 2018
Contact: Marjory Walker or T. Cotton Nelson
(901) 274-9030

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Ted Schneider, a producer from Lake Providence, La., will serve as president of Cotton Council International (CCI) for 2018. He and other CCI officers were elected at CCI’s board meeting during the National Cotton Council’s (NCC) 2018 Annual Meeting held February 9-11 in Fort Worth, Texas. CCI is the NCC’s export promotion arm and carries out programs in more than 50 countries globally under the COTTON USA trademark.

“As CCI’s president, I’m proud to lead its efforts in 2018 to show the global cotton supply chain that U.S. cotton is the cotton the world trusts because of its quality, sustainability, innovation and premium value,” Schneider said. “Our family farmers constantly use and pursue the latest innovations and technologies to farm sustainably and deliver uniform and consistent cotton for less downtime, more productivity and superior quality yarn, fabric and products.”

Schneider, who moves up from CCI first vice president, succeeds Eduardo L. (Eddy) Esteve, a merchant from Dallas, Texas, who becomes CCI board chairman.

Since 1984, Schneider has been the owner/operator of a Lake Providence-based 3,600-acre diversified farming operation located in northeast Louisiana and southeast Arkansas that is dedicated to sustainable, responsible agricultural production. He currently chairs the NCC's Sustainability Task Force and its Committee for the Advancement of Cotton. Schneider earned a B.S. in Business Administration from Louisiana State University. He and his wife, Renee, have three children.
Other 2018 CCI officers elected include: first vice president, Hank Reichle, cooperative, Greenwood, Miss.; second vice president, Richard L. (Ricky) Clarke, III, merchant, Cordova, Tenn.; and treasurer, Ted Sheely, producer, Lemoore, Calif. In addition, Gary Adams, Cordova, Tenn., was elected as secretary and Bruce Atherley, Washington, D.C., was elected as assistant secretary.

Elected as 2018 CCI directors were: Curtis H. Stewart, a ginner from Spade, Texas; Tim G. North, a merchant from Dallas, Texas; Philip R. (Phil) Bogel, II, a merchant from Dallas, Texas; Paul (Paco) Ollerton, a producer from Casa Grande, Ariz.; Matthew R. (Matt) Hyneman, a producer from Jonesboro, Ark.; and Aaron A. Barcellos, a producer from Los Banos, California.

Re-elected as 2018 CCI directors were: PRODUCERS – J. Lee Cromley, Brooklet, Ga.; Richard Gaona, Roby, Texas; Craig A. Heinrich, Lubbock, Texas; and Taylor Slade, Williamston, N.C.; GINNER – Kent D. Fountain, Surrency, Ga.; MERCHANTS –Steven (Steve) Dyer, Cordova, Tenn.; James L. Loeb, Jr., Montgomery, Ala.; and Ernst D. (Ernie) Schroeder, Jr., Bakersfield, Calif.; COOPERATIVE OFFICIALS – Frederick Barrier, Greenwood, Miss.; Carlos C. Garcia, Lubbock, Texas; and Jarral T. Neeper, Bakersfield, Calif.; COTTONSEED HANDLER – James C. Massey, Harlingen, Texas; WAREHOUSEMAN – Vance C. Shoaf, Milan, Tenn.; and MANUFACTURERS – Robin Perkins, Sanford, N.C.; and Davis Warlick, Charlotte, North Carolina.